Newcastle Social Media Surgery No2

Last night, I was one of the ‘social media surgeons’ at the second Newcastle Social Media Surgery (organised by Stephanie Cole, held at the Settledown Café in the city centre, not far from Central Station.

I was a volunteer social media surgeon at the first one too, which was held at the Toffee Factory, a building that has a meeting room with wifi and offices set around a courtyard with the original factory chimney as the central feature. I really enjoy every opportunity to visit that building.

So far, I have enjoyed the experience of helping people at these surgeries. The people whom I have met, both those helping and those seeking help, are lovely. There has been a relaxed atmosphere. We all try to offer solutions that will work for the specific organisations and the individuals managing their online presence. It is great to volunteer alongside other volunteers who can work collaboratively.

Helping other people also helps me to get a better idea of how much I know. It can be difficult to judge one’s level against average person in the street when mostly in contact with people who take it for granted that everyone uses social media and blogs.

When I started, I was not sure if this would be something I would like but was willing to try. I will definitely be at the next one in September.

Leave a Reply

