2012 – the start

JED2_NH300_020591

Street art in the Ouseburn area.

 

I was contemplating how I seemed to have been writing a lot daily but that it had been early November since I had last written a post for this blog when a discussion on Twitter caught my eye. People I know were talking about writing for blogs more regularly. The idea of the Weekly Blog Club was proposed. I wrote a blog post so that people had somewhere with more space to discuss how it would work. Soon, we had the first official post for the first week of the Weekly Blog Club: Fear by Sarah Lay.

I have committed to writing a post a week (not necessarily always published on this blog) because I do want to share more of my past and present experience and observations about culture and society, perhaps more about digital technology. Part of the reason why I had not written for this blog more often was because I thought that people were not very interested in it. From the web stats and reaction on Twitter, fewer seemed interested in my photographs on Flickr or any of my blog posts (apart from the life drawing series), and fewer people seemed to interact on Twitter in 2011.

The idea of the Weekly Blog Club reminded me of my original purpose in publishing things online:

  • to get some distance from my own work in order to analyse, edit, improve upon it;
  • to share with others – even if just 1 person gets something from a photograph or post, it is worth the effort.

My post for the week after next is likely to be about a workshop ‘Designing Ouseburn’s Future,‘ one of three that I hope to attend between now and March. I wrote a bit about the initial meeting in November. Hopefully, by writing about one initiative to engage the people who use an area with planning its future, it will encourage others to try such approaches and to participate in any in their areas.

The range of topics that I might tackle for Weekly Blog Club could be quite wide. I am interested in many things and my work normally involves culture, digital technology and the public – which involves a very wide range of practical and ethical issues. If there is any topic that you would like me to write about, please say.

8 thoughts on “2012 – the start

  1. peterolding (@peterolding)

    I’m looking forward to reading your weeklyblogclub posts. Inetested in the bit when you said that you hope your blogs will have a wide range of topics. I too hope to cover a wide area. Blogging about anything that interests me at the time, and hopefully you will all find it intersting as well..

    Reply
  2. Pingback: 2012 – the start « Janet E Davis – The Blog | weeklyblogclub

  3. Janet E Davis Post author

    Thanks, Peter :-)
    If you have a look at my previous posts even just on this blog, you will see that they can be quite varied.
    My work has included a bit of researching the history of medicine in the UK in the 19th and early 20th century, British maritime history, coal mining, public parks… and that’s apart from my main focus on art, architecture, archaeology, conservation, digital technology…etc.

    Reply
  4. markbraggins

    Hi Janet. Well, I’m also looking forward to reading your weekly posts. I wasn’t aware of your blog until the weekly club was set up, and I see you’ve tackled some really interesting subjects.

    I wonder if we might all benefit volunteering some constructive criticism for each other? I’d really like to know if I express myself badly, or if I’ve missed a trick in a post.

    Perhaps in a few months time we could each take a look back at, say, a month’s worth of someone else’s blog and write a piece about it?

    What do you think?

    Reply
    1. Janet E Davis Post author

      Thanks, Mark :-)
      I do have several blogs (& will soon have another one on my new website), but this is my main serious one.

      I wonder if it might be a good idea for people to say if they want constructive criticism?
      I’m aware that it can be a delicate balance. I have been used to editing and proof-reading colleagues’ and even managers’ texts since I first started work, and so have the attitude that this type of criticism is not personal. I have also trained people to write for specific purposes in a work context, and have written style guides.
      I am aware that even the most talented and experienced of writers can benefit from criticism. I am also very aware, however, that some find it difficult to see even the most positive criticism that way, and would not wish to deter people from participating.

      I suggest that we ask if people want to volunteer for this, and if they do not, they can have the fun of reading the comments or reviews of those who do? I think we need this discussion on http://weeklyblogclub.wordpress.com/ – would you mind if I copy your suggestion on a blog post there so everyone can comment?

      Reply
      1. markbraggins

        Hi Janet, yes by all means copy the comment. I’d also hate to deter people. An opt-in is a good idea. An alternative to a public post might be an email, or even phone call – just a mechanism for sharing suggestions for improvement.

  5. Pingback: Remembering, renewal & revitalising | weeklyblogclub

Leave a Reply

